WHY?

SO WHY A BLOG, AND WHY ABOUT VINYL?

In a pre meeting discussion today a fellow co-worker and I were having a discussion about our weekends.  He asked me “What did you do this weekend?  Anything special?”.  To which I replied “I went searching for vinyl, but it was quite uneventful.”  He then told me that I should document and blog my searches.  Its been a while since I’ve had a camera in my hands for anything other than a family photo, or a keyboard under my fingers for work or the occasional “www.” at home.  So this became quite an intriguing idea.  However, I do have to remember to thank him for what may ultimately be a performance crippling distraction at work. 

WHAT’S THE POINT?

To be honest, it really started with one, but what it has turned into from there…..I can’t tell you.  I wanted to know more about music.  “Broaden my musical knowledge” is what I tell everyone.  Sounds smarter…..i think.  That is why I started though.  I wanted to know where music came from, where it went, and think about where it’s going.  I didn’t want to read about it, I wanted to learn by listening.   

SO WHY DON’T YOU JUST DOWNLOAD IT?

Well, that was another issue of mine.  Music used to be about so much more.  It used to be an experience that unfortunately my generation is far removed from.  A guy at work once told me that he waited outside of his local record shop when he was a kid to be one of the first to buy a copy of Black Sabbath’s “Paranoid”.  He bought the album, took it home, unwrapped it, placed it on the turntable, and dropped the stylus.  He sat back and listened.  He experienced the music.  Everything that comes along with it, even the wait.  My genaration……point…..click…..play.  I guess what I’m saying is music has become a routine for some.  Where it seemed to be a privilege before.  MP3’s are just a shell to me.  A format of convenience if you will.  Don’t get me wrong, I have an Ipod.  I’m just saying the MP3 is the perfect format for our society.  A format for somebody on the run, always moving, no time to wait, and no time to appreciate. 

THAT MAKES ABSOLUTELY NO SENSE!

What I am saying is I knew nothing about music.  I thought I knew what I liked.  This was me stepping out of my box.  I knew there was more out there and I wanted to hear it.  I wanted to challenge myself musically.  See if I really knew what appealed to me.  The result was me falling in love with vinyl.  Falling in love with the crackles on the songs.  “Good music as it was intended to be heard.”  I found myself pondering what the 40 year old record had seen.  What its travels were like I guess.  From there, I wanted more. 

SO, SUM IT UP IN ONE WORD.  WHY DO YOU DO IT?

Experience.  I do it for the experience.  The search is an experience.  Trying to find new places like random antique shops where they are stacked on top of one another in a dusty corner.  Going to community yard sale’s and walking away with a huge smile when people undervalue them and haggling with those who overvalued.   I have to find these things.  It’s more exciting when you don’t have the world at your fingertips I guess.  I can’t just type what I want and BING there it is.  I have to be at the right place at the right time, and there is plenty of luck involved.  My experience starts with the search…..it usually ends with me sinking into my sofa with a cold beverage in my hands and enjoying the rewards of the day.

DUSTY ANTIQUE SHOPS?

Oh yea man, those are the best.  Very much a “Don’t judge a book by its cover” type of scenario.  Those places are incredible.  Fun to look around at other things as well. 

SO I’LL ASK YOU AGAIN…..WHY?

And my answer is……I don’t know……but I haven’t stopped, and I enjoy it.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “WHY?

Leave a Reply

